J.Nicolette

Hiking Griesalp

With only a week of my trip remaining, Anne and I decided to spend our final day off together hiking to the peak of the nearby mountain, Griesalp. It was a four hour, uphill, drenched-in-sweat-that-soaked-through-my-sweatshirt kind of hike, and after a couple restaurant stops, we opted to rent a sled for the trip back down. Maybe you’re thinking this is some special Swiss term for a motorized transportation device, but alas- I am talking about your average wooden sled.

Anne and I shared a sled, and I can only imagine how ridiculous two grown women looked squeezed onto the little board, navigating the sharp downhill turns with squeals and laughter. (Ok- the squeals were mine, not Anne’s. But hey- those icy turns down a 4,665 ft mountain can be a little scary when there’s no guard rail.) We safely made it to the bottom of the mountain and hitched a ride back to Kiental with some French folk.

Hiking success.

Here’s our hike in pictures:

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Swiss Stories and tagged , , , , , , .

J.Nicolette on Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

Goodreads

J.Nicolette